Skip to content

Youth Justice Board

The creation of the Youth Justice Board was announced by the Minister for Corrective Services, the Hon. Joe Francis, in Parliament on 2 April 2014.

Board Members

The Board is chaired by Mr James McMahon, the Commissioner of the Department of Corrective Services.

The members of the Board are:

Terms of Reference - Youth Justice Board

  1. Oversee the work of a new, consolidated youth justice division within the Department of Corrective Services.
  2. Facilitate direct connections between the community, the non-government sector and the public sector. (This will enable the systematic engagement of stakeholders, innovative service design and delivery and the monitoring of the effectiveness of interventions.)
  3. Ensure continuous evaluation and improvement of matters such as the conditions of young people detained at Banksia Hill and the commission of new services.
  4. Promote stronger engagement with Aboriginal families and communities.

Youth Justice Steering Committee

A Youth Justice Steering Committee comprising of representatives from key public sector agencies and the not for profit sector will be established. This committee supports the Youth Justice Board through its Terms of Reference which are to:

  • Implement the directions set by the Youth Justice Board
  • Evaluate the provision of services to children and young people, taking account of the Aboriginal Advisory Coordinating Committee, to improve outcomes in terms of diversion, rehabilitation and reoffending
  • Implement mechanisms and services that enable government agencies and non-government agencies to assist in the continuum of services for young people in the juvenile justice system to achieve a reduction in offending, particularly by Indigenous offenders.

Page last updated: 17-Oct-2016